About Us

What is CDN?

Vision: ‘A broadcasting industry with equality at its core’.

Purpose: To enable the UK Broadcasting industry to increase diversity and inspire inclusion.



Measure: Capturing diversity and inclusion data. Ensuring every part of the UK Broadcasting supply chain understands the diversity and inclusivity landscape.

Unite: Uniting the industry by sharing best practice and creating the forums for collaboration to identify and celebrate the actions that improve diversity and inclusion.

Support: Supporting the industry with honesty and openness to ensure that actions are undertaken for measurable progress.


The Team

Deborah Williams

Deborah Williams started as the Executive Director at Creative Diversity Network in November 2016, leading on organisational development and business planning.

Deborah brings over 30 years’ experience working above and below the line in television, film and theatre, as well as policy development across the wider creative and cultural industries. She is an adviser to the UN and UNICEF on the rights of disabled people to cultural activities. She previously designed the BFI diversity standards and Arts Council England’s equality analysis process; for public sector equality duty compliance.

As well as sitting on panels and steering groups for many organisations, Deborah is known in her own right as an artist provocateur having won awards and nominations nationally and internationally. Her work in theatre is acknowledged as a catalyst for challenge and change in perceptions of disability and difference.  In 2019 she was awarded the Life Time Achievement award from Inclusive Companies for her body of work in the area of diversity and culture. She is a Disabled Powerlister 2018 and 2019. Connect with Deborah on twitter @cdndebs

Amy Turton

Amy manages Diamond, the system used to obtain diversity data about the people making UK television. She is responsible for the day to day running of the project, producing our reports, and scoping out its future development. Her background includes almost 20 years working in the arts and culture sector, with senior experience in strategy, research and policy development.

Adam Hawley

Adam joined CDN in October 2019 to oversee CDN’s portfolio projects and run business operations.  His background is in facilitating people, projects, launches and business growth in a range of industries, sectors and countries.

Monique Jordan-Cave

Monique has over 18 years in the music, entertainment and TV industry (EMI Music Publishing, Virgin Records, NBCUniversal and Channel 4), working closely alongside CEO’s and Executives.

Monique joined the CDN team in April 2020 as part-time EA to Deborah Williams and Office Manager.


The Members